Loading Events

« All Events

LUAH

JazzTube Festival Bonn

Friday 30. August 2019 @ 17:30 19:30

Underground stop Heussallee / Museumsmeile – exit Haus der Geschichte

LUAH © Linda Schäffler - JazzTube Festival Bonn
LUAH © Linda Schäffler

The Cologne band LUAH is made up of three filigree musicians who create something completely new with their arrangements and unusual instrumentation. The compositions are by front singer Elsa Johanna Mohr and combine jazz, folk and pop elements. They use English and, more recently, Portuguese. The name of the band was derived from the Portuguese word “lua” (moon). The three of them search for new and different colours and lead the audience into different worlds. Again and again, the three voices intertwine to form a unique colour web and, in combination with a jazzy guitar sound, lead to an expressive and unconventional sound. Especially singers like Joni Mitchell and Becca Stevens inspired the band.

The band members of LUAH are the singer Elsa Johanna Mohr, the singer Lena-Larissa Senge and the guitarist and singer Ula Martyn-Ellis.

LUAH has “created his own niche with sunny vocals, folky arrangements and jazzy harmonies. In the process, relatives to the early Joni Mitschell can be eavesdropped on, a pinch of acoustic dream-pop feeling comes into play, and the spice is created by samba and bossa interferences in the repertoire. The songs are always in love with details, placing cleanly played electric guitar, ukulele and glockenspiel effects as unobtrusive partners for the bright vocalises.

Stefan Franzen, JAZZTHING

The Australian jazz guitarist, singer and composer Ula Martyn-Ellis studied at the Institute of Music of the Osnabrück University of Applied Sciences with Frank Wingold, Andreas Wahl and Simin Tander. Since graduating in 2017, she has been working as a freelance musician, poet and pedagogue in her adopted hometown of Cologne. Among the projects she regularly participates in are LUAH, the Swagtett and her own trio, boy who ate the sun.

The singer and composer Lena-Larissa Senge studied jazz singing at the Institute of Music in Osnabrück from 2012-2017, among others with Anne Hartkamp, Simin Tander and Efrat Alony. After completing her bachelor’s degree, she moved to Cologne, where she currently works as a musician and vocal pedagogue in addition to her master’s degree in music education. Since her vocal studies she has composed and arranged for her own band LARIZA and is part of various artistic projects. Her four main projects include LUAH, LARIZA (modernjazz), Inspiration, Dear! (traditional vocal jazz quartet) and the State Youth Jazz Orchestra NRW.

Elsa Johanna Mohr first studied Portuguese literature in Munich and lived for a total of 1 1/2 years in Brazil, where she learned to love the Brazilian language and music – this is a major focus in her musical work, the in addition to jazz/folk and pop influences, her band LUAH is also noticeable. Since 2015 she has been studying jazz singing in Osnabrück, where she has received lessons from SiminTander,Anne Hartkamp,Tobias Christl,Esra Dalfidan and EfratAlony. Like the other two musicians, she has moved to Cologne, where she is involved as a singer and composer in the band projects LUAH, ANTIGUA (Gypsyjazz/ World Music) and MAGIA ENCANTA (brazilian jazz/pop).

YouTube – LUAH – Doce Como Mel
Spotify – LUAH – Sunlit

Line-up:

Elsa Johanna Mohr – vocals, ukulele, percussion, composition
Lena-Larissa Senge – vocals, synths, chimes, percussion
Ula Martyn-Ellis – vocals, guitar

The band plays 3 sets of 30 minutes each
Set 1: 17:30 to 18:00 / Set 2: 18:15 to 18:45 / Set 3: 19:00 to 19:30

Voting

Like every year, fans and audiences are invited to vote for their three favourites. Over the duration of the underground concerts (23.8.2019 to 22.09.2019) the artists can be rated positively via SMS. The three bands with the highest approval ratings will play at the Pantheon Theater Bonn on Friday, 11 October 2019.
The voting will be unlocked on Friday, August 23, 2019!


The JazzTube Festival Bonn is sponsored by SWB Bus und Bahn and has been an important contribution to the music scene in the Beethoven city of Bonn since 2012.

With the BONNmobil app, SWB provides the first mobility platform for Bonn.
You can not only take over the stops as start or destination (timetable information), but also your own location or the position of the new radius search “What’s here?”.
Use the Quick Start to change the map view and display all mobility offers from local public transport to rental bikes and e-scooters and plan your individual mobility chain – a system with many smart options.

BONNmobil – All in, for contemporary mobility
LUAH 1 - JAZZ IN CONCERT LUAH 2 - JAZZ IN CONCERT LUAH 3 - JAZZ IN CONCERT


Organizer

SWB Bus und Bahn

+49 228 711 1

www.swb-busundbahn.de

Thomas Kimmerle

thomaskimmerle.de

The JazzTube Festival Bonn 2019 is presented to you by SWB Bus und Bahn.
Idea, concept, artistic direction & implementation : Thomas Kimmerle

Venue

U-Bahn Haltestelle Heussallee / Museumsmeile – Ausgang Haus der Geschichte

Adenauerallee 262
Bonn,Nordrhein-Westfalen53113Deutschland
+ Google Map

Advertising

You will be redirected to an external Homepage

Klavierhaus Klavins Bonn
Jacques Weindepot Bonn Dottendorf
JazzrockTV - Cologne
SOURCE LAW Bonn
3songsbonn - Bonn's English Music Site
Analogue - Hubert Vianden Bonn - Linn
Scroll to Top
Logo von Thomas Kimmerle

Newsletter

Thank you very much for your interest in my concerts!

I would also be happy to send you my newsletter and inform you personally about upcoming concerts.

Best regards
Thomas Kimmerle

Lade Veranstaltungen

« Alle Veranstaltungen

LUAH

JazzTube Festival Bonn

Freitag 30. August 2019 @ 17:30 19:30

U-Bahn Haltestelle Heussallee / Museumsmeile – Ausgang Haus der Geschichte

LUAH © Linda Schäffler - JazzTube Festival Bonn
LUAH © Linda Schäffler

Die Kölner Band LUAH setzt sich aus drei filigran agierenden Musikerinnen zusammen, die mit ihren Arrangements und der ungewöhnlichen Instrumentierung etwas ganz Neues schaffen. Die Kompositionen stammen von der Frontsängerin Elsa Johanna Mohr und vereinen sowohl Jazz-, Folk-, als auch Popelemente. Sie bedienen sich der englischen und seit neustem auch der portugiesischen Sprache. Abgeleitet vom portugiesischen Wort „lua“ (dt.: Mond) entstand auch der Name der Band. Zu dritt begeben sich die Frauen auf die Suche nach neuen und andersartigen Farbtönen und führen die Zuhörer in unterschiedlichste Welten. Immer wieder verflechten sich die drei Stimmen zu einem einzigartigen Farbgewebe und führen in Kombination mit einem jazzigen Gitarrensound zu einem ausdrucksstarken und unkonventionellen Klangbild. Vor allem Sängerinnen wie Joni Mitchell und Becca Stevens haben die Band inspiriert.

Die Bandmitglieder von LUAH sind die Sängerin Elsa Johanna Mohr, die Sängerin Lena-Larissa Senge und die Gitarristin und Sängerin Ula Martyn-Ellis.

LUAH hat sich “eine eigene Nische mit sonnigen Vokalsätzen, folkigen Arrangements und jazzigen Harmonien erarbeitet. Dabei lassen sich Verwandschaften zur frühen Joni Mitschell herauslauschen, eine Prise akustisches Dream-Pop-Feeling kommt hinein, und die Würze entsteht durch Samba- und Bossa-Einstreuungen ins Repertoire. Detailverliebt sind die Songs immer, platzieren clean gespielte E-Gitarre, Ukulele und Glockenspieleffekte als unaufdringliche Partner für die hellen Vokalisen.

Stefan Franzen, JAZZTHING

Die australische Jazz-Gitarristin, Sängerin und Komponistin Ula Martyn-Ellis studierte am Institut für Musik der Hochschule Osnabrück u.a. bei Frank Wingold, Andreas Wahl und Simin Tander. Seit Studienabschluss 2017 ist sie als freischaffende Musikerin, Lyrikerin und Pädagogin in ihrer Wahlheimat Köln tätig. Zu den Projekten, bei denen sie regelmäßig mitwirkt, gehören LUAH, das Swagtett und ihr eigenes Trio, boy who ate the sun.

Die Sängerin und Komponistin Lena-Larissa Senge studierte von 2012-2017 Jazzgesang am Institut für Musik in Osnabrück, u.a. bei Anne Hartkamp, Simin Tander und Efrat Alony. Nach Abschluss ihres Bachelorstudiums zog es sie nach Köln, wo sie neben ihrem Masterstudium in Musikvermittlung derzeit als Musikerin und Vokalpädagogin arbeitet. Seit ihrem Gesangsstudium komponiert und arrangiert sie für ihre eigene Band LARIZA und ist Teil unterschiedlicher künstlerischer Projekte. Zu ihren vier Hauptprojekten zählen LUAH, LARIZA (modernjazz), Inspiration, Dear! (traditional vocal jazz quartet) und das Landesjugendjazzorchester NRW.

Elsa Johanna Mohr studierte zuerst portugiesische Literaturwissenschaft in München und lebte insgesamt 1 1/2 Jahre in Brasilien, wo sie die brasilianische Sprache und Musik lieben lernte – diese bildet einen großen Schwerpunkt in ihrem musikalischen Schaffen, der sich neben Jazz/ Folk und Popeinflüssen auch in ihrer Band LUAH bemerkbar macht. Seit 2015 studiert sie Jazzgesang in Osnabrück, wo sie u.a. Unterricht bei SiminTander,Anne Hartkamp,Tobias Christl,Esra Dalfidan und EfratAlony erhielt.Wie die beiden anderen Musikerinnen, hat es auch sie nach Köln gezogen, wo sie als Sängerin und Komponistin in den Bandprojekten LUAH, ANTIGUA (Gypsyjazz/ World Music) und MAGIA ENCANTA (brazilian jazz/pop) involviert ist.

YouTube – LUAH – Doce Como Mel
Spotify – LUAH – Sunlit

Besetzung:

Elsa Johanna Mohr – Gesang, Ukulele, Percussion, Komposition
Lena-Larissa Senge – Gesang, Synths, Chimes, Percussion
Ula Martyn-Ellis – Gesang, Gitarre

Die Band spielt 3 Sets á 30 Minuten
Set 1: 17:30 bis 18:00 / Set 2: 18:15 bis 18:45 / Set 3: 19:00 bis 19:30

Voting

Wie jedes Jahr sind die Fans und Publikum dazu aufgerufen Ihre drei Favoriten zu wählen. Über die Dauer der U-Bahn Konzerte (23.8.2019 bis 22.09.2019) können die Künstler via SMS positiv bewertet werden. Die drei Bands mit den höchsten Zustimmungswerten spielen am Freitag, 11. Oktober 2019 im Pantheon Theater Bonn.
Das Voting wird am Freitag, 23. August 2019 freigeschaltet!


Das JazzTube Festival Bonn wird von SWB Bus und Bahn gefördert und ist seit 2012 ein wichtiger Beitrag für die Musikszene der Beethovenstadt Bonn.

Mit der App BONNmobil stellt die SWB die erste Mobilitätsplattform für Bonn zur Verfügung.
Übernehmen Sie nicht nur die Haltestellen als Start oder Ziel (Fahrplanauskunft), sondern auch den eigenen Standort oder die Position der neuen Umkreissuche „Was ist hier?“.
Wechseln Sie über den Schnellstart die Kartenansicht und lassen sich alle Mobilitätsangebote vom ÖPNV über Leihräder bis zu E-Scootern anzeigen und planen Sie Ihre individuelle Mobilitätskette – ein System mit vielen smarten Möglichkeiten.

BONNmobil – Alles drin, damit Du’s drauf hast.
LUAH 1 - JAZZ IN CONCERT LUAH 2 - JAZZ IN CONCERT LUAH 3 - JAZZ IN CONCERT


Veranstalter

SWB Bus und Bahn

+49 228 711 1

www.swb-busundbahn.de

Thomas Kimmerle

thomaskimmerle.de

Das JazzTube Festival Bonn 2019 wird Ihnen präsentiert von SWB Bus und Bahn.
Idee, Konzept, künstlerische Leitung & Umsetzung : Thomas Kimmerle

Veranstaltungsort

U-Bahn Haltestelle Heussallee / Museumsmeile – Ausgang Haus der Geschichte

Adenauerallee 262
Bonn,Nordrhein-Westfalen53113Deutschland
+ Google Karte

Advertising

You will be redirected to an external Homepage

Analogue - Hubert Vianden Bonn - Linn
Jacques Weindepot Bonn Dottendorf
JazzrockTV - Cologne
3songsbonn - Bonn's English Music Site
SOURCE LAW Bonn
Klavierhaus Klavins Bonn
Nach oben
Logo von Thomas Kimmerle

Newsletter

Vielen Dank für Ihr Interesse an meinen Konzertveranstaltungen!

Gerne sende ich Ihnen auch meinen Newsletter zu und informiere Sie persönlich über die anstehenden Konzerte.

Beste Grüße
Thomas Kimmerle